Why

Did it ever cross your mind
To think about how I felt
Put yourself in my shoes
Feel the sting of the belt
You always sat up in that throne
That you made for yourself
Just so you could look down
At me
But why?
Why did you hit me
When I had done nothing wrong
Your anger just took over
And I was your way to vent
I was no longer your son
But just an object to hit
An object to scorn
In between the whips and discipline
The words start to fly again
You spit them with venom
Not even a hint of love
Did it feel good?
Did you feel better about yourself?
Part of me hopes that you did
So that I was at least useful
For something…

Leave a Reply

