Going Up

        The elevator doors slid open, and a dim light shown from within the metal box. There was a man in the elevator, standing by the buttons with a suit on. He had a hauntingly frightful face, with sharp edges and features, pale skin, and eye sockets that seemed hollow. A sharp nose, and a mouth that seemed wider than it should have been.
        He turned and looked down at me as I walked into the elevator. I stood in the corner opposite of where he was, trying to keep as large a distance as I could from him in the small enclosure. Looking at me out of the corner of his eye, barely turning his head toward me, he said, “Going up” more matter-of-factly than a question.
        “Ye…yes. To the 13th floor pl…please” I managed to stammer out. He gave a slight nod, and pressed the button for the 13th floor. The doors slowly closed and soon they were slowly riding up to the thirteenth floor. It seemed to move at a crawl, as if it took a minute for every floor that they passed on the ride up. I grew more fearful the longer I was in the elevator with the man, my hands grew clammy and my heart race quickened every second. I had been staring at the floor of the elevator in hopes of avoiding eye contact until I got to the floor I needed to get to and got off this forsaken contraption.
        I don’t know why, but I stole a glance at the man, and immediately wished I hadn’t when I looked at him. Without me knowing, he had turned to face me, staring down at me in an eerie way. With his head tilted down at me, the light on the ceiling casted long, ominous shadows across his face. His eyes seemed to shine out from the shadows, but not in the good kind of way.
        Seeing that I was now staring at him, a crooked smile slowly started to appear on his face. He never broke eye contact, glaring down at me. His smile was the most wicked of smiles that I had ever seen. His lips were of the color of blood, and his yellow teeth shown between them the wider the smile got. It seemed as if he was grinning from ear to ear, the blood red lips playing across his face, and his yellow rotten teeth looking sharp and hideous. 
        It was so horrifying that, no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t take my eyes off him. I was frozen in fear, wanting to run away and never look back. But I was stuck on this elevator with the man. I looked at the floor to see how much longer I had, and saw that we had just passed the sixth floor. A small wave of relief came over me, as I was halfway to where I needed to be. But at the same time, I felt more dread as I thought that this elevator ride would never end. 
        I shut my eyes as tightly as I could, and stayed in the corner of the elevator. Maybe if I could just hold out a little longer, I can get to my floor and be gone from this man. With my eyes closed, I heard the beeps from the elevator as we passed more floors, until finally it dinged and started to slow. Slowly cracking my eyes open, I checked to see if the man was still staring at me.
        I let out a gasp and opened my eyes fully, for, to my amazement, there was no one in the elevator with me. I was alone, as if I had dreamed this entire ordeal in my head and scared myself in the process. I closed my eyes and opened them again, unsure of what was going on, thinking that I was going crazy. But still, there was no one else in the elevator with me, and the doors slid open on the 13th floor.
        I stepped out of the elevator, relieved to be off of it and whatever had happened on there. Still not believing that I had imagined the whole thing, I looked back into the elevator to check once more, and to convince myself that I had indeed played it all out in my head. 
        There he was, standing now in the middle of the elevator. His head was still tilted down, but his eyes stared straight forward at me. His red lips spread in a terrifying smile that stretched from ear to ear, never taking his eyes off me as he had in the elevator. He slowly raised a hand and waved at me, letting out a playful chuckle, but to me it sounded like the scariest thing I had ever heard. He continued to do this as the doors began to close. The piercing eyes staring at me, the red lips from ear to ear, yellow teeth, waving at me and giggling. The doors shut and he was gone, but he stayed in my head forever.

2 thoughts on “Going Up

  1. I enjoy reading this short story you held my attendant right to the end, I was wondering what was going to happen to him, very relieve at the end he was ok. You are a good writer, will follow so I can read more of your future articles.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

