Why blog?

Why blog public rather than write private?

For a while, I used to write in my free time in a notebook and leave all my writings there. They never got shared with anyone else, I was the only one that saw them and read them. At first, the reason for this was that I was afraid of what others would say. That it wouldn’t be that great, they’ve read better, or that none of it really made any sense. I felt that all of these were reasonable fears to prevent me from sharing my work. But then I thought, if I want to get better, how will I know what to improve on? That’s when I made the decision to start a blog, put my writings and works out there, and see what constructive criticism I get back. I’m always looking for ways to improve, and what better way than to put everything out there for all to see?

What do I write?

I love poetry, and it’s what got me into writing in the first place. I’ve played with a variety of different ways to write, and I’ve tried to expand and stretch myself. I also enjoy writing short stories or just random thoughts and musings every now and then, although these are not as frequent as the poetry that I write. So this is what my blog will primarily consist of, poetry with something different every now and then.

Who would I like to connect with?

Others that enjoy writing! I’d like to connect with individuals who have a passion for writing as well, as I don’t really know anyone that does. I think it would be a great community to be a part of, and someplace that I can share my work and grow as well!

What do I hope to accomplish?

My ultimate goal for this year is to just be consistent with writing. It would be nice and welcome if I gained followers, but I think that something more important for me to focus on for this year is to post often. I think that followers is something that naturally follows as you get better, and so I want to focus on perfecting my craft.

One thought on “Why blog?

  1. Hey there! Found your blog through the blogging101 page!
    I love writing poetry as well, so I just wanted to say good luck because poetry is a form of art that only few know the true value of anymore.
    Oh, subscribed by the way! If you’d like to check out my blog that would be awesome: stenila.wordpress.com
    It’s a Christian blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

